New Designs and New Auctions

Sorry I’ve been gone so long, we are really busy during the summer months and it’s always my blogs that suffer for it.

I’ve had a really great week in the studio, extremely productive and I’ve even been playing with a few new designs. I woke up Monday morning and bang! I could feel my Muse, sometimes she takes a little vacation, sometimes she takes a really long vacation but it’s always a fantastic feeling when you know that she has finally returned. I couldn’t go back to sleep, it was 4am ( she sometimes arrives at ungodly hours) so I got up, went out to the studio, built a fire in the wood stove and proceeded to have a wonderful day. It’s been that way all week.

Anyway, I’ve got lots to show you and I’m slowly getting things up on Ebay. I’ll post a few new things every day until I get caught up. I’ve got a ton of beads but they all need some sort of finishing work, either photographing, or etching, or some other finishing step that still needs doing. I’ve got some beads set aside for a mixed media experiment that I’m working on.

Here is one of the new designs and one of those mixed media experiments that I was talking about. This was the first one that I did. He cracked at the bottom so he is my Guinea pig.

windfrontetch

On this guy I added a headdress with stringer but I want a more elaborate headdress and so I’m experimenting with seed beads. I have tons of them so this seems like a good place to use them!

Next bead in this new series is one that I am really happy with. I did the headdress again with stringer and I added an “ear” so she can wear an earring. I didn’t add another ear because I want something a bit more asymmetrical. She turned out really well and she is up on Ebay.

amberwindsidefront1

I have more in this series to show you but that’s it for today.

Next up is a Willendorf style goddess, this time with arms that enfold her belly. I wanted to make a goddess that looked really old. She definitely looks old, but of course, she loses her smooth, polished texture and feels more like rough stone now. I think she would work really well on an altar or in a display cabinet as opposed to being worn as a necklace.

turqfront

I’ve also just been playing with more “normal” type stuff, like dots and regular focals. I am actually really enjoying dots right now, weird I know! I never had the patience for them but their is something about the precision placement and the thinking in patterns aspect that seems to appeal to some part of me right now, so you will probably see more dot work from me.

dotbead1

Ok, I think that’s enough for today. I’ve got a bunch of beads to work on today so I will have more to show you tomorrow!

~ by lavendercreek on June 12, 2009.

Leave a comment